Skip to Main Content
Follow us

Area of Focused Competence (AFC) Programs

The Royal College has established national standards for evaluating and accrediting Canadian Area of Focused Competence (AFC) programs. AFC diploma programs are post-residency competency-based programs that provide additional training. They build upon a broader discipline in order to enhance scope of practice.

The General Standards of Accreditation applicable to AFC programs include the A Standards, which apply to the university and postgraduate dean’s office and the C Standards, which apply to each AFC program.

Policies and procedures for the accreditation of AFC programs

Accredited AFC Programs

The following residency programs are accredited by the Royal College:

For information about obtaining a licence to practise, please contact your provincial and territorial medical regulatory authority.

Contact us