Skip to Main Content
Follow us

Royal College/Associated Medical Services Donald R. Wilson Award: Recipients


Najma A. Ahmed, MDCM, PhD, FRCSC, FACS

Dr. Najma Ahmed has been director of the General Surgery Residency Program at the University of Toronto since 2008. She is also an associate professor of Surgery in the school’s Faculty of Medicine. She was recruited to St. Michael’s Hospital in the Division of General Surgery in 2001 and has served as assistant trauma director and as a trauma team leader. Her clinical focus and practice is in Acute Care Surgery, Trauma and Critical Care.

While chair of the Education Committee of the Trauma Association of Canada, she played a lead role in establishing Trauma Surgery as the first surgical discipline granted recognition as a Royal College Area of Focused Competence (Diploma) Program.

The author of over 60 peer-reviewed papers, her areas of academic interests are in surgical education and models of care that support clinical excellence in Acute Care and Trauma Surgery. She was a member of the National Steering Committee on Resident Duty Hours and remains keenly interested in resident wellness.

Dr. Ahmed completed medical school, her General Surgery residency and a PhD in Surgical Infections and Sepsis at McGill University. She also did fellowship training in Endocrine Surgery, Trauma Surgery and Critical Care at the University of Michigan and the University of Toronto.


Dr Peter Ferguson, Toronto


Dr Glenn Posner, Ottawa


Dr Moyez Ladhani, Hamilton


Dr Allan Peterkin, Toronto


Dr John Murnaghan, Toronto


Dr Azim Gangji, Hamilton
Dr Otto Rorstad, Calgary


Dr Andrée Boucher, Outremont


Dr Denyse Richardson, Toronto


Dr Roger Wong, Vancouver


Dr Sarita Verma, Toronto


No award


Dr Glen Bandiera, Toronto
Dr Jill Nation, Calgary