Skip to Main Content
Follow us

Regional Prix d’excellence — Specialist of the Year: Recipients

Click here to learn more about this award!

2017 Award Winners

Dr. Donald Giovanetto, FRCSC, CCFP, DABO

Region 1 Dr. Donald Giovanetto, FRCSC, CCFP, DABO

  • Specialist, Otolaryngology-Head and Neck Surgery, Stanton Territorial Health Board, Yellowknife, Northwest Territories

After graduating from the Faculty of Medicine at the University of Alberta, Dr. Giovanetto completed a Family Medicine program at the Misericordia Hospital in Edmonton, followed by an Otolaryngology-Head and Neck Surgery residency at the University of Alberta. He then entered practice at Stanton Hospital in Yellowknife, and several years later completed an abbreviated six month fellowship in Pediatric Otolaryngology and Otology in Columbia, Missouri, returning to Yellowknife afterwards.

Though only intending to stay in Yellowknife for 2-4 years, Dr. Giovanetto found the unique practice environment of Canada’s north very engaging. He has enjoyed the breadth and variety of work, and has travelled hundreds of thousands of kilometers providing otolaryngology services to various communities throughout the Northwest Territories and western Nunavut. Over the years he has developed a broad experience in the treatment of chronic ear disease that is so prevalent in the indigenous population, especially the Inuit. During his time in the north, he has become a familiar name and face to several generations of families, providing continuity of care. His commitment to the north has extended into the health community, serving in various administrative positions at Stanton. Dr. Giovanetto has found it extremely rewarding to work among a very supportive and collegial medical community in the north, as well as the many locum physicians who have provided service in the Northwest Territories.

Dr. Diana Elizabeth Tullis, FRCPC

Region 3 Dr. Diana Elizabeth Tullis, FRCPC

  • Professor of Medicine at the University of Toronto
  • Respirology Division Head at St. Michael’s Hospital
  • Dr. Douglas Crozier Award from Cystic Fibrosis Canada (2017)

When Elizabeth Tullis was completing her Respirology fellowship at the University of Toronto in 1989, she attended a few of the cystic fibrosis (CF) clinics at the Hospital for Sick Children. The experience sparked her interest in this disease and in 1990 she did a clinical fellowship at the Adult Cystic Fibrosis clinic in Melbourne, Australia. She returned to Toronto and in 1992 opened the Toronto Adult Cystic Fibrosis initially at Wellesley Hospital, it moved seven years later to St Michael’s Hospital. Over the ensuing 25 years, the clinic grew in size, from 250 to now 500 adults.

Dr. Tullis was the Respirology Program Director at the University of Toronto from 2000-2007 and holds the Cystic Fibrosis Canada Chair in Adult Cystic Fibrosis Research. Dr. Tullis has published over 130 articles and book chapters and has lectured nationally and internationally on issues related to Cystic Fibrosis in adults. In addition, Dr. Tullis has also trained 20 Cystic Fibrosis fellows who are now working in clinics around the world.

Dr. Devinder Paul Cheema, FRCSC, CM

Region 4 Dr. Devinder Paul Cheema, FRCSC, CM

  • Associate Chief at the McGill Academic Eye Centre (MAEC), Health center, McGill University, Montreal, Quebec
  • Canadian Association of Medical Education (CAME) Certificate of Merit Award (2016)
  • Frank Buller Award; Most Outstanding Clinical Instructor (2016)

Dr. Dev Cheema graduated from McGill University Medical School with honors in 1990 and completed his residency training in Ophthalmology at McGill in 1995. He went on to do a fellowship in Cornea, External Disease and Keratorefractive Surgery in Boston and returned to McGill to join their attending staff full time at the Montreal General Hospital, a university trauma center. His practice comprises of tertiary care patients with emphasis on corneal transplants, ocular infections, trauma, high risk cataract surgery and complications of refractive surgery. Dr. Cheema has a passion for teaching and has previously been recognized with nine departmental, University and National awards for medical student and resident teaching. These include awards for clinical and surgical teaching.

He has also volunteered to provide eye care in remote Inuit and Cree villages in Northern Quebec for twelve years and has raised several million dollars in fundraising for the Department of Ophthalmology at McGill University.

Dr. Ward D. Patrick, FRCPC

Region 5 Dr. Ward D. Patrick, FRCPC

  • Professor, Dalhousie University, Halifax, Nova Scotia, Department of Critical Care, NSHA

Dr. Ward Patrick received his medical degree from Memorial University of Newfoundland in 1985. He completed an Internal Medicine residency at MUN and subsequently completed his training in Critical Care Medicine at the University of Manitoba. Dr. Patrick joined the Faculty of Medicine, Dalhousie University and the medical staff at the QEII Health Sciences Centre, Halifax, Nova Scotia in 1994 and is currently a full professor of medicine at Dalhousie University.

In 2005, he became the Critical Care Division Head and under his leadership Critical Care became a department under Dalhousie and NSHA in 2014. He has been Medical Co-Lead for the Critical Care Health Services Planning Work stream Committee since 2015.


  • Dr. Ernest P. Janzen, MD, FRCPC - Calgary
  • Dr. John M. Embil, MD, FRCPC, FACP - Winnipeg
  • Dr. Dilkhush D. Panjwani, MBBS, DPM, MD, MRCPsych, FRCPC - Toronto
  • Dr. Jacques E. Leclerc, MD, FRCSC - Quebec City
  • Dr. Ian R. Morris, BEng, MD, FRCPC, DABA, FACEP - Halifax


  • Dr. Vince Bain, MD, FRCPC – Edmonton
  • Dr. K. Alok Pathak, MBBS, MS, FRCSC – Winnipeg
  • Dr. Rosemary G. Moodie, MBBS, FRCPC – Ottawa
  • Dr. Jacques L. Michaud, MD, FRCPC - Montreal
  • Dr. Michael J. Mitchell MD, FRCPC - Halifax