Skip to Main Content
Follow us

A message from the CEO

Announcing 2 new award winners (with VIDEO) + bonding over bannock?

Dear colleagues,

One of our award winners for 2017 attended the University of Toronto from 1996 to 2000 and, for a time, was the only identified Indigenous student in the entire medical school. What’s more, in his four years of study, there was only one lecture on Indigenous health in the curriculum.

It’s no secret that Indigenous health is an area of intense focus among policy-makers, the health care community and the public at large. There are known disparities in Indigenous welfare, access to care and quality of care.

Yet, less often discussed is access to education — be it pathways to medical education for Indigenous students or knowledge among health workers of Indigenous health values and principles, factors that can help lead important change.

This doctor teamed up with a colleague to transform this situation for future generations of learners. For their work, we honour them this year with the Dr. Thomas Dignan Indigenous Health Award. Find out who this year’s winners are »

  • Learn 4 ways they’ve had an impact so far
  • Watch a special tribute video
  • Read a story from Dr. Ryan Giroux about “Bonding over bannock.”


Andrew Padmos, BA, MD, FRCPC, FACP
Chief Executive Officer, Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada