Terms of Reference
Residency Accreditation Committee


The Residency Accreditation Committee is a subcommittee that reports to the Accreditation Committee. Its major role is to ensure that Canadian residency programs accredited by the Royal College meet the requirements and guidelines for accreditation of residency programs and are conducted in a manner that permits graduates of the programs to achieve a level of competence compatible with Royal College certification.

Responsibility and Authority

The Residency Accreditation Committee has the following responsibilities and authority:

  • Develops, maintains, and recommends to the Accreditation Committee policies, standards, and criteria relating to the accreditation of Canadian residency programs;
  • Assesses applications for accreditation of new residency programs or for modifications of accredited programs;
  • Reviews the reports of periodic evaluations of accredited residency programs through on-site surveys and other means; and
  • Determines the level of accreditation to be granted to each residency program, within Royal College regulations and policies.


The Residency Accreditation Committee has twenty-five (25) voting members, including the chair and a vice-chair. Six (6) of the voting members are ex-officio, as listed below. The chair is a member of the Accreditation Committee. The chair or a designate is also a member of the International Program Review Accreditation Committee (IPRC) to ensure consistency between domestic and international accreditation of residency programs. The Residency Accreditation Committee’s composition is determined as appropriate and includes Fellows, residents and others.

  • Two (2) members from the Association of Faculties of Medicine of Canada (AFMC);
  • One (1) representative from the Collège de Médecins du Québec (CMQ);
  • One (1) Specialty Resident representative, as selected from two nominees from Resident Doctors of Canada (RDoCs);
  • One (1) Specialty Resident representative, as selected from two nominees from the Fédération des médecins residents du Québec (FMRQ);
  • One (1) Chair or designate from the IPRC, to ensure consistency between the domestic and international accreditation of residency programs; and
  • Nineteen (19) Fellows at large.

The Residency Accreditation Committee also has ten (10) non-voting members who may attend meetings but shall not be counted for the purposes of establishing quorum.

  • One (1) non-voting member from the Association of Canadian Academic Healthcare Organizations (ACAHO);
  • One (1) non-voting member from the Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education (ACGME);
  • One (1) non-voting member from the Association of Faculties of Medicine of Canada (AFMC);
  • One (1) non-voting member from the Canadian Resident Matching Service (CaRMS);
  • One (1) non-voting member from the College of Family Physicians of Canada (CFPC);
  • One (1) non-voting member from the Collège des médecins du Québec (CMQ);
  • Secretary to the Committee on Accreditation of Canadian Medical Schools (CACMS);
  • One (1) non-voting member from the Federation of Medical Regulatory Authorities of Canada (FMRAC);
  • One (1) non-voting resident from RDoCS; and
  • One (1) non-voting resident from FMRQ.

Key Competencies and Characteristics

Generally, committee members should possess the following key competencies and characteristics: experience and expertise in postgraduate medical education; knowledge of all facets of the postgraduate medical education system in Canada; demonstrated knowledge of the policies, processes, and standards related to accreditation; and ability to integrate strategic thinking and risk management in the formulation of accreditation policies and standards.

Members should have previous senior experience in medical education, preferably serving in such roles as program director, divisional/departmental head, postgraduate deans or specialty committee member, or senior level university faculty.

Committee members should also possess the ability and willingness to meet the strategic directions of the Royal College and the willingness to participate effectively in committee meetings.

Term of Office

The usual term of office of the chair is two years, renewable once (maximum of four years). The term of the vice-chair is one year, renewable three times (maximum of four years). The usual term of office for members is two years, renewable twice (maximum of six years).

The terms of office take effect as stipulated so long as the member’s total years of service on the committee do not extend beyond 10 years. All terms shall begin and end at the time of the Annual Meeting of the Members when vacancies need to be filled.


The Residency Accreditation Committee usually meets face-to-face three times per year and additionally via teleconference or web-based meeting, as needed.

Quorum consists of a majority of the voting members of the committee (i.e., 50% plus one). The chair is counted as a voting member in constituting quorum. However as the presiding official of the committee, the chair does not move motions. Furthermore, the chair shall only vote when the vote is conducted by secret ballot. Every question shall be decided by a majority of the votes cast. In the event of a tie vote, the question shall be defeated. When a committee is called to make a decision outside of a meeting by e-ballot, the same rules apply.

Appointment to a Royal College committee carries significant responsibilities, and all committee members are expected to adhere to the Volunteer Code of Conduct. In addition, committee members are required to maintain absolute discretion and not divulge, re-produce, or release any confidential information except when authorized by the Royal College. Committee members may download a copy of committee materials for the sole purpose of participating in committee work. All downloaded materials must be deleted once the related committee work is completed. The Royal College retains copies of committee materials should committee members wish to access them at a later time for related work.

Committee work product

In the course of performing their committee duties, committee members may produce or contribute to materials, content or other work products. These work products and the related intellectual property will be owned by the Royal College. The Royal College is open to discussing other ownership arrangements for specific projects. Alternative arrangements must be confirmed in writing by the project contributors and the Royal College.

TOR record

Approved by: CSE
Approval Date: April 28, 2021
Approval path: Accreditation Committee, CSE
Effective date: April 28, 2021
Date of next review: Spring 2022
Royal College Office: OSE
Version status: Approved