Kristin Sivertz Resident Leadership Award

This award is named in honour of the late Dr. Kristin Sivertz, a former program director in Psychiatry and a former co-associate dean of postgraduate medical education at the University of British Columbia.

The award is given each year to a resident who has shown leadership in Canadian specialty education and who encourages the development of future leaders in medicine.

We present up to two awards per year.

Who is eligible

A nominee must be enrolled in a Royal College-accredited residency program. To succeed, nominations should show evidence of the candidate’s

  • outstanding leadership skills during their residency training;
  • contributions to the advancement of the profession of medicine, welfare of residents or quality of residency education;
  • strong role modelling and mentorship ability among peers; and
  • embodiment of the professional characteristics outlined in the CanMEDS Framework.

Unsuccessful candidates may be re-nominated in subsequent years. Previous recipients are not eligible.

Who can nominate

Nominations may be submitted by program directors, deans, postgraduate deans, department chairs or division directors.

Self-nominations are not allowed.

How to write a nomination

Nominations must be submitted as a single PDF file, in either English of French.

Please submit your package in this order:

  • One nomination letter (maximum of two pages) from a postgraduate dean, residency educator, program director, department or division chair that addresses each element found above under “Who is eligible.” Provide two to three examples of success for each element. This letter is the key piece of the nomination package. The more information you provide, the better.
  • One support letter (a maximum of two pages) from a current or recently graduated resident or trainee.
  • An abbreviated CV of the nominee.

Each nomination must be for only one candidate.

Only one nomination package is allowed per candidate. You may need to coordinate the submission if multiple individuals want to nominate the same person.

How we select the award recipient

Recipients are decided by a subcommittee of the Awards Committee of the Royal College.  

The institutional affiliation of previous recipients may be considered in determining the recipient, in the spirit of broadening access to this award.

The award

The award is presented at the annual International Conference on Residency Education (ICRE). The recipient receives a plaque recognizing their contribution, as well as complimentary travel and registration to ICRE.

How we use your application information

  • If your nominee receives an award, the Royal College reserves the right to reproduce content from the nomination package, including quotes from nomination letters, in promotional communications.
  • Nominators’ identities are revealed to the award recipient in their letter of notification.
  • Unsuccessful nominees and their lead nominators receive a letter from the Royal College letting them know they were nominated.

Nominate a colleague!

Please submit your application in PDF format using our online platform by April 30, 2024.

Contact us with your questions.

Past recipients


Brandon Tang, MD, MSc, FRCPC, University of Toronto (Toronto, Canada)

Fatemeh Ramazani, MD, MMEd, University of Calgary (Calgary, Canada)


Shane Arsenault, MD, MPH, Memorial University (St. John’s, Canada)

David D’Arienzo, MD, University of Toronto (Toronto, Canada)


Nada Gawad, MD, MAEd, FRCSC, University of Ottawa (Ottawa, Canada)

Malika Ladha, MD, FRCPC, University of Calgary (Calgary, Canada)

Click here to see a list of past ICRE award winners.