International Medical Educator of the Year Award

This award is given annually to an international medical educator who has demonstrated a commitment to enhancing residency education as evidenced by innovation and impact beyond his or her program. One award will be presented annually. The award winner receives a plaque recognizing his or her contribution, as well as travel and registration to the International Conference on Residency Education.


A nominee must be a current medical educator of a postgraduate program residing outside of Canada.


  • Demonstrated commitment to innovation in residency education.
  • Has had a lasting impact on the quality of residency education and measurable outcomes beyond his or her program.
  • Evidence of effective leadership and mentorship ability.
  • Embodies or integrates the CanMEDS Roles.
  • Strong track record for promoting ethics, reflection and humanism in residency education.


  • Nominations may be submitted by medical educators, deans, postgraduate deans, department chairs, division directors, peer teachers or trainees (maximum of two letters).
  • Self-nominations are not accepted.
  • Individuals may be re-nominated in subsequent years. However, previous winners of the award will not be eligible to win again.


  • Nomination submissions must include the following:
    • official award nomination form, completed
    • nomination letter addressing every element of the criteria above
    • a second letter of support from a resident (currently or recently graduated)
    • curriculum vitae of the candidate (no more than 3 pages in length)

The 2021 Residency Education Awards call for nominations is now closed.


Nominations are adjudicated by a subcommittee of the Awards Committee of the Royal College.

Contact us
Office of Specialty Education
Telephone: 613-730-8177, ext. 170; toll-free 1-800-668-3740, ext. 170

Past recipients


Felix Ankel, MD, FACEP, University of Minnesota (Minnesota, USA)

Click here to see a list of past ICRE award winners.