Program Director of the Year Award

This award is given annually to a program director who has demonstrated a commitment to enhancing postgraduate medical education as evidenced by innovation and impact beyond their program. Up to two awards are presented annually. Award winners receive a plaque recognizing their contribution as well as travel and registration to the International Conference on Residency Education.


A nominee must be a current program director of a residency or area of focused competence (AFC) program accredited by the Royal College.


  • Demonstrated commitment to innovation in postgraduate medical education.
  • Has had a lasting impact on the quality of postgraduate medical education and measurable outcomes beyond their program.
  • Evidence of effective leadership and mentorship ability.
  • Embodies or integrates the CanMEDS Roles.
  • Strong track record for promoting ethics, reflection and humanism in postgraduate medical education.


  • Nominations may be submitted by program directors, deans, postgraduate deans, or department chairs and division directors (maximum of two letters). Only 1 nomination submission package per candidate so coordination may be required if multiple individuals want to nominate the same individual.
  • Nominations may be in English or French.
  • Self-nominations are not accepted.
  • Individuals may be re-nominated in subsequent years. Previous winners are not eligible to win again.


  • Nomination submissions must include the following all in 1 PDF file:
    • the official award nomination form, completed
    • nomination letter addressing every element of the criteria listed above
    • a second letter of support from a resident or AFC trainee (current or recently graduated)
    • curriculum vitae of the nominee (no more than 3 pages in length)


Nominations are adjudicated by a subcommittee of the Awards Committee of the Royal College.

Contact us
Office of Specialty Education
Telephone: 613-730-8177, ext. 170; toll-free 1-800-668-3740, ext. 170

Past recipients


Azim S. Gangji MD, MSc, FRCPC, McMaster University (Hamilton, Canada)

Jonathan Gaudet, MD, MSc, FRCPC, University of Calgary (Calgary, Canada)

Click here to see a list of past ICRE award winners.