Honorary Fellowship

About Honorary Fellowship

The Royal College Council may bestow Honorary Fellowship on exceptional physicians, surgeons and lay persons who are not eligible for Fellowship. These individuals have demonstrated outstanding performance in a particular vocation or a specific area of professional activity directly or indirectly related to the field of medicine. Honorary Fellows may use the designation FRCPSC (Hon).

Nominations for Honorary Fellowships can be submitted by any Fellow of the Royal College, as well as by Council members, specialty committees, specialty societies, senior academics and others. The call for nominations is issued in the fall, with Honorary Fellows selected by Council at its February meeting.

Up to four Honorary Fellows can be appointed per year by the Royal College Council. There is a long-standing tradition of offering Honorary Fellowship to the governor general of Canada, the patron of the Royal College, at the commencement of the term of office.

Honorary Fellows typically receive their Fellowship diploma a Royal College event.

Guide - How to Prepare a Nomination for Royal College Honorary Fellowship

Regulations for the Selection and Admission of Honorary Fellows

NOW CLOSED – Nomination cycle will open in October 2021

Questions about this award, please contact us via email awards@royalcollege.ca

2021 Honorary Fellows

Brigadier-General (Retired) Hilary Jaeger
Dr. Barry Lavallee
Major-General Marc Bilodeau

2020 Honorary Fellows

Dr. Lorelei Lingard
Dr. Hans Jung
Dr. Roger Strasser

Honorary Fellows

Dr. George Alberti, FRCPC (Hon)
Prof. Luis Ibañez Anrique, FRCPSC (Hon)
Mme Louise Arbour, FRCPSC 
Dr. Lorne A. Babiuk, FRCPSC
Prof. Carol M. Black, FRCPC (Hon) 
Dr. Michael Bliss, FRCPSC 
Dr. Alain Beaudet, FRCPSC (Hon)
Dr. Philip B. Berger, FRCPC (Hon)
Brigadier-General J. Jean-Robert S. Bernier, FRCPC (Hon) 
Sister Monique Bourget, FRCPSC (Hon)
Prof. Zafar Ullah Chaudhry, FRCPSC (Hon)
The Right Honourable Adrienne Clarkson, FRCPSC 
Lieutenant-General The Honourable Roméo Dallaire (Ret), FRCPSC
Dr. David A. Davis, FRCPC (Hon) 
Soeur Elizabeth Davis, FRCPSC
Dr. Thomas A. Dignan, FRCPSC (Hon)
Dr. Alexander Dougall, FRCPC (Hon) 
Brigadier-General A.M.T. Downes, FRCPSC (Hon)
Dr. A Brent Eastman, FRCPSC (Hon)
Prof. Muhammad Sultan Farooqui, FRCPC (Hon) 
Dr. Bernard Fisher, FRCSC (Hon) 
Dr. Olivier James Garden, FRCPSC 
Dr. Paul Grand’Maison, FRCPSC (Hon)
Dr. John Hamm, FRCPC (Hon)
Dr. Eric S. Holmboe, FRCPSC (Hon)
Dr. Mary M. Horowitz, FRCPC (Hon)

Dr. Barry Trevor Jackson, FRCSC (Hon)
Dr. Ian Thomas Jackson, FRCSC (Hon)
The Right Honourable Michaëlle Jean, FRCPSC
His Excellency the Right Honourable David L. Johnston, FRCPSC
Dr. Lucian L. Leape, FRCSC (Hon) 
Mr. Stephen Lewis, FRCPSC
Dr. Jocelyn Lockyer, FRCPSC (Hon) Dr. Yucun Liu, FRCPSC (Hon)
Dr. Ann Macaulay, FRCPC (Hon)
Brigadier-General H.C. MacKay, FRCPSC (Hon)
Dr. Ernest Mastromatteo, FRCPC (Hon)
Dr. Lizo Ebden Mazwai, FRCSC (Hon)
Dr. Bernard Morrey, FRCSC (Hon)
Sir Peter Morris, FRCSC (Hon) 
Dr. Louise Nasmith, FRCPC (Hon) 
Ms. Eva Olsson, FRCPSC
Dr. Andrew Pipe, FRCPSC (Hon)
Dr. Raymond Victor Rajotte, FRCPSC 
Dr. Ignacio Sanchez, FRCPSC (Hon)
Dr. Bernard Shapiro, FRCPSC 
Dr. Louis Siminovitch, FRCPSC
Dr. John Allan Raymond Smith, FRCSC (Hon) 
Dr. Barrie I. Strafford, FRCPSC
Dr. Professor Geoffrey Ian Taylor, FRCSC (Hon)
Dr. Maureen Topps, FRCPSC (Hon)
Dr. Mark A. Wainberg, FRCPSC 
Dr. Ronald G. Worton, FRCPSC 
Dr. Joseph B. MacInnis FRCPC (Hon)